Cinema Reviews

HUSH, it’s time for a scare with the new short film by writer and director Michael G. Kehoe

By Cosimo D’Aleo

12.15.14

Being a self prescribed movie buff, I generally appreciate all types of film. Sci-fi, romantic, drama, I’m down for them all. One genre I usually shy away from (much to my girlfriend’s dismay) is Horror.

As far back as I can remember Horror films have never been that interesting to me. The protagonists are usually very two-dimensional and their motives seem as transparent as cellophane. So, imagine my delight when I came across a new Short in the Horror genre that didn’t throw blood around to get my attention.

HUSH, a new Short by writer and director Michael G. Kehoe, starts off with all the effects and eerie delight a fan of the genre might expect, but what transpires in the span of a mere 7 minutes is astounding. Rarely do I find myself at the edge of my seat waiting for something to happen, and yet HUSH had me mesmerized the entire time. I’m pretty good at guessing what comes next in most of the flicks I see, but every once in a while there comes a film that literally knocks the breath out of you.

The actors, Alexandra Grace and Riley Connor, portray their characters with the appropriateness seldom seen in a film such as this. I immediately bought into Grace’s character’s annoyance for having to “hush” the little girl upstairs due to the power outage at the house. There’s a fine line between rushing and dragging out an interior shot, and as Grace makes her way up the stairs to where the little girl is, I noticed (and applauded) the director’s constraint in making us wait to get to the landing, while not forgetting the subtle sense of urgency to quell the fears of the young girl.

I’m not sure how much more I can say without giving away too much, but I will say this. Kehoe’s take on the genre has certainly made me rethink my position that I cannot be genuinely surprised by what takes place within it. The twist at the end has M. Night Shyamalan taking notes, and the rest of us uncomfortably seated to find out what is next. Being scared never felt so good.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

hunger-Games-Mockingjay-part1-poster

Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 1

By Steven Mullaney

11.29.14

“Everyone’s either going to want to kiss you, kill you, or be you.”

If you’re anything like me, you’ve always thought the weakest part of the Hunger Games was, well, the Hunger Games. The action scenes in the games themselves were never that well done; they weren’t gruesome or stylized enough to contend with the shock factor of Battle Royale, they were endlessly fascinated with completely incapacitating Katniss no matter how minor the skirmish, and most perplexingly, the narrative frequently got bored with the combat narrative entirely and forced the protagonists to go up against environmental hazards that they always, always, always survived through pure dumb luck. The fight scenes always ended up getting in the way of the much more interesting character interaction and the political maneuvering between the various factions. All of that was never clearer than in last year’s startlingly improved sequel, Catching Fire, which was positively fantastic right up until the relevant parties had to start murdering each other again.

So imagine my feelings when it turn out the next movie gets rid of the arena stuff altogether in favor of non-stop political maneuvering. Sure, the Part 1 thing is weird, but it doesn’t necessarily preclude a movie from being good just because it’s only half done by the time the credits roll. More than simply waiting for the series to impress me, I was holding out for greatness.

Greatness, I am happy to say, is what we received.

Mockingjay follows Katniss Everdeen, fresh from her lightning stunt at the last movie’s Quarter Quell and rescued by the heretofore unknown District 13. District 13 and their leader, President Coin, want to use Katniss as a symbol of their revolution to inspire the other Districts to their side, a task that becomes somewhat more difficult once a captured Peeta begins appearing on the airwaves begging the revolution to stop.

Mockingjay Part 1 proves that the whole “deadliest game” structure was just holding this series back. Rather than all that children vs children action anyone could never want, Mockingjay indulges in a different, cooler type of warfare—information warfare. Since Katniss can’t act, the only way the revolution can properly use her as a symbol is to throw her into the thick of things and film her genuine reactions. The result is an inverse of last movie’s tour of the various districts, replacing roaring crowds with hollowed out buildings and elaborate parties with understaffed military hospitals. The Capital counters with varying levels of psychological warfare, particularly Peeta’s seemingly turncoat presence. The movie does a great job of showcasing Katniss’s emotional fragility at this stage. It basically takes a team of her friends and family to keep her going at any given time, and Jennifer Lawrence sells the hell out of her breakdowns. Sometimes a little too well; I’d never use the words “whiny hysterics” to describe a grieving teenage girl, buuuuuuut…

 In addition, no more are interesting characters introduced with flourish only to die unceremoniously and anti-climactically. Instead, characters both new and old thrive and contribute character action to the plot. I dare say that character action is the plot, and without traditional action beats or structure, the sequence of events becomes highly unpredictable. When it departs from the propaganda formula, it does so by endangering characters that are minor enough to actually conceivably die, ratcheting up the tension. After two movies of being carted around by forces beyond the main character’s control, it’s refreshing to see them in an adventure that lives and dies by the actions of its characters.

In a series with such spectacles as gratuitous child death and poisonous fog that melts your skin off, Mockingjay Part 1 somehow manages to be even more child-unfriendly than its predecessor. Expressed desire for suicide, televised executions, and a field full of charred skeletons all make an appearance in the first twenty minutes alone (remember when the series was aimed at teenagers?). But that’s the closest thing I can level when it comes to a complaint. Mockingjay is dark without being depressing. It is intelligent without being obtuse. It is conservative without being inert. It gets rid of the series’ tendency towards violence and comes out better for it.

Highly intelligent and unpredictable—when was the last time you watched a movie about a heroic dystopian misinformation campaign?—Mockingjay is a joy to behold. Provided you’ve navigated through the slog of a first movie and the mixed bag that was the sequel, there is no reason to pass this one up.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

 

interstellar_poster_0

Interstellar

By Neil Hazel | 

11.16.14

The idea of space travel is equal parts terrifying and exciting. Being all-alone in the drifts of space, discovering places that very few have even dreamed of exploring. Christopher Nolan, director of films such as Inception and The Dark Knight trilogy, gives us a glimpse into what might actually be out beyond the stars with Interstellar. This film really is a powerhouse in many categories, including it’s storyline, and because of this I will attempt to keep this review as spoiler free as possible.

Interstellar is set at an undisclosed amount of time into the future, a future that is distinct yet familiar. As the Earth begins to become uninhabitable, a group of explorers sets out to find a new planet that the people living on Earth can call home. What follows is an exhausting (in a good way) journey, as we follow both the crew, and their families back home. From the very beginning of the film you are sucked into its world, while it slowly begins to open up more and more details. Rather than throw everything at you all at once, Interstellar allows us to discover it’s world in a natural manner, making it more relatable and believable, despite its futuristic setting. Cooper, played by Matthew McConaughey, is our eye into this world. He is a hard working, family man that is trying to provide a perfect life for his kids. He delivers an emotional performance that is both entertaining and heartbreaking to watch.

As the film leaves Earth and heads into space it becomes even more awe-inspiring. Over the course of the entire film there are countless scenes that left my heart racing, and not in the typical Hollywood fashion. While many films claim to be science-fiction are just action movies in a futuristic setting, Interstellar is truly science-fiction. The events that take place are all grounded in science and seem plausible, despite the wondrous connotations behind it all. The film does a good job of making its heavy science, understandable to the general audience. There are no epic fight scenes, the film is not riddled with explosions like most other blockbusters, but that does not make it any less exciting, entertaining, or powerful. Several moments are downright chill inducing and jaw dropping. The visuals are amazing, provided an intelligent and accurate look into the outer reaches of space, so too is the storyline, with several revelations occurring that stuck with me long after I left the theatre.

Interstellar also presents several powerful and hard-hitting themes. Life and death, hope and loss, these themes are put on display, often at parallel times, which helps ramp up the emotional impact of them. At several periods a number of members in the audience were left in tears, only to be leaning forward in their seat with excitement minutes later. It is in this way that the film is exhausting. Nolan does not just want the viewer to be a passive bystander, the film is engaging from beginning to end, making you think and feel, making you put yourself into the situations of the characters, and thinking of how you would deal with them.

As the film neared its conclusion I began to worry that it would not be able to wrap up in a satisfying matter, but by the time the final scene is done I felt completely satisfied. Interstellar is a marvelous film, one that I advise you see on the biggest screen possible. It allows us to step away from our world and into a brand new one. Fueled by great performances, fantastic set-pieces, and emotional power, Interstellar is an intelligent blockbuster.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Hiro-and-Baymax-Big-Hero-6_article_story_large

Big Hero 6

By Neil Hazel

11.16.14

When Marvel released Guardians of The Galaxy earlier this year they showed their willingness to put some of their more obscure characters on display. With Big Hero 6 they have reached further into that obscurity, and pulled out another successful film. Disney acquired Marvel for a hefty sum back in 2009; many wondered just what they would do with the characters and their respective universe. Since then, films like The Avengers have found both commercial and critical success, but none of them truly felt like Disney films. Big Hero 6 presents the first film that represents the best of both Disney and Marvel.

Big Hero 6 tells the story of Hiro, a boy genius living in San Fransokyo, a beautiful mash-up of San Francisco and Tokyo. When disaster strikes and a strange villain appears in the city, Hiro enlists the help of some of his friends and the adorable, marshmallow-esque robot Baymax in order to stop him. While the plot does start to fall off into the predictable Disney realm, it is still bunches of fun going from point A to B with the cast of characters that make up the titular group, all of which are perfectly animated and voice acted. Each character is unique and memorable in personality, appearance, and super power, but it is Baymax (voiced by 30 Rocks Scott Adsit) that most viewers will be drawn to. He is adorable, hilarious, and downright awesome.

The animation is flawless, as is usual with Disney films. Some of the action scenes rival that of Marvels standard fare films, while also packing the emotional punch that is common for Disney. San Fransokyo is a wonderful backdrop for the film featuring cherry blossom trees commonly seen in Tokyo coupled with the steep hills and cable cars that San Francisco are known for. Even the Golden Gate Bridge is given some Asian accents to help make the setting stand out. These features, while they may seem minor, are a great touch, seeing as the original Big Hero 6 comic book featured an all-Japanese group of characters.

Big Hero 6 is the perfect blend of Disney and Marvel for both kids and adults. It is action packed, touching, and hilarious. One of the funniest scenes of the movie is when Baymax runs low on batteries and begins acting like that person at the party who has had one too many to drink. While it will go over most kid’s heads, it is a joke that most adults can relate too. In typical Marvel fashion there is a Stan-Lee Cameo, and as usual make sure you stay after the credits for the hidden scene. In a year that has put out some awesome animated films, Big Hero 6 can stand with the best of them.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

nightcrawler-jake-gyllenhaal

Nightcrawler

By Steven Mullaney

10.6.14

“Can we run this?”

“Legally?”

“No, morally. Yes, legally.”

Nightcrawler is a thriller that comes to us as a complete inverse of last week’s box office offering, with never ending parade of things to talk about. Nightcrawler’s particular focus is in the field of crime journalism: Where is the line between reporting a story to the masses and watching someone die instead of helping them? Is it okay to pay people for gratuitous footage, thus basically incentivizing the depiction of human suffering? What happens when you accept that as your career in life? I mean, really accept it? What happens when a ratings philosophy is interpreted as a mission statement? What happens when people are valued more dead than alive? Can you put a price on watching a person die? Should you?

Detached from fundamental human empathy, everything that goes in to crime journalism becomes bloated and ugly, fear mongering dedicated to herding viewers in front of their TV screens. It’s somewhat ironic that this movie happens to have the name of one of the X-Men characters, because this movie is basically about a man’s descent (ascent?) into supervillainy.

Nightcrawler would like you to meet Louis Bloom, phenomenally played by Jake Gyllenhaal. Louis is a petty thief teetering on the edge of the functional autistic spectrum and society as a whole. Educated entirely on internet business articles and ostracized by the people he does business with because of, you know, the stealing, Louis is a bundle of raw nerves always on the lookout for a way to worm (hah!) his way into society and something he can call a career. Louis’s “lab accident” happens one night when he sees some men filming a car accident so they can sell the footage to morning news networks. Starting with nothing but a camcorder, a police scanner, and a willingness to go to lengths no one else will, Louis begins working his way up the crime journalism totem pole. For a long, long time it isn’t clear what Louis is actually after, and the narrative becomes just as much about unraveling Louis’s mental processes as it is his journey to the top. Much like the characters in the movie, the audience doesn’t catch on to Louis’s true nature until it is much too late.

To say more would be to rob you of the experience, but this next part is important to emphasize. Your enjoyment of Nightcrawler is predicated on one of two things; your ability to watch Louis Bloom for two hours, or your receptiveness to the movie’s central metaphor. Personally, Louis does nothing for me. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a great character, and there’s nothing wrong with the way he’s built, but I just don’t like watching him do things. There’s a particular scene in a Mexican restaurant where Louis reveals his true colors, and it will either have you squirming in your seat or nail your jaw to the floor with its audacity. For me, that part marked where the movie became an exercise in putting up with Louis until the movie could deliver its ultimate message.

That message happens to be fantastic. It’s an endlessly clever hat trick that turns everything you thought the movie was on its head. But on that front, Nightcrawler is like a joke that takes two hours to tell. You can’t skip any of the set-up because it’s all vital to the punchline, and you can’t skip to the punchline because it doesn’t make any sense without the set-up. I can’t even imagine what this movie would look like if you tuned in halfway through; it would be like getting air-lifted halfway up the Matterhorn. It can only function as a complete whole.

As for the allegations that this movie is funny, I imagine they’re kind of people who find the humor in Full Metal Jacket. Out of context, yeah, Louis threatening to fire someone because they dripped a little gasoline on his car could be funny, and that opening quote could certainly generate a hearty chuckle. But while watching the actual movie of Full Metal Jacket, R. Lee Ermey comes off as terrifying and oppressive to me as he probably does to the cadets. When it comes to Nightcrawler and all of the things that are apparently supposed to be satire, for me the atmosphere and delivery buries the line between what’s exaggerated and what’s supposed to be taken at face value. It all reads the same from down here.

I’d like to reiterate that where Nightcrawler ends up going is pretty great. But if you’re not interested in the metaphor, the only thing left to chew on is the spectacle of watching Louis Bloom navigate the tumultuous world of crime journalism, and I simply don’t have the mindset to care about his problems. Without that, Nightcrawler is left to squirm in the dark, eyeless and surrounded by society’s dirt. If only there was a name for that.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

John-Wick-2014-

John Wick

By Steven Mullaney

10.29.14

“It’s not what you did, son. It’s who you did it to.”

John Wick is an action movie’s action movie. Beyond the events that make up the story, beyond what is actually, literally happening on-screen, there is no deeper activity going on. John Wick is purposefully and aggressively about absolutely nothing. I dare say it’s the action movie that every other action movie quietly dreams about becoming before being injected with the prejudices of its creator or a message to convey. John Wick has no thematic subtext, just bullet-ridden regular text. Every possible moral statement or guiding philosophy is flushed away like a juice cleanse.

But all of that is a calculated bid on all sides of the production to cultivate the purity of the action movie experience. John Wick may be empty of messages, but not emotion. It doesn’t have inner complexity, but it has a deep sense of fun. John Wick isn’t a story about themes, it’s a story about people.

People who get shot in the head by John Wick.

The plot of John Wick is structured like an Olympic swimmer, with all of the fat burned off until nothing is left but lean efficiency. John’s wife has died of cancer. John isn’t doing too great until a package shows up on his doorstep, containing a puppy his wife bought to keep John company after she passed away. For a minute it looks like life could return to normal—until a local mob boss’s son named Iosef decides he likes John’s car, and kills the dog during the process of stealing it.

The pace briefly runs out of steam midway through before catching a second wind, but other than that, there are no faulty parts in the John Wick machine. All of John Wick’s attention is focused inward in order to get the best mileage possible out of its somewhat limiting premise. John Wick is a movie that will never need to be remade—no matter how much future executives may want to—because it did everything it set out to do the first time, with no room for improvement. It is an evolutionary cul-de-sac action movie at the peak of its development. Historians may very well point to John Wick and go “There. That’s when we stopped being able to do actionized revenge thrillers. They’d come as far as they would go.”

As stated earlier, aside from a steadfast pro-live dog/anti-dead dog message, there’s nothing to glean and no central motivating message. This is as empty as an action movie can possibly get without losing function. Just like John himself, the movie made a difficult lifestyle choice and then worked as hard as it could to make it possible. As the saying goes, it takes a lot of effort to look this effortless; you could write a thesis paper about how this movie manages to be so polished while only rarely coming off as stale.

I’m not saying John Wick is a perfect movie. But John Wick is the perfect realization of what it is trying to be. What that is is a great action movie dedicated to nothing but the pure joy of being an action movie. If you like action movies, this is a must see. If you don’t, skip it. It is exactly as distilled as that, because it just doesn’t get more distilled than John Wick.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Gone Girl

By Neil Hazel | 

10.17.14

Gone-Girl-Poster

While most of the years biggest blockbusters come out in the summertime, fall and winter are considered Oscar season, the time when movie studios release their films most likely to receive Oscar nominations. Gone Girl is one of the first movies of the year to truly be considered Oscar worthy. Because the film is packed with so many twists and turns I will try to keep this review light on details and spoiler free.

Gone Girl is about Nick (Ben Afflek) and Amy (Rosamund Pike) Dunn, a couple celebrating their 5th wedding anniversary. When Amy suddenly goes missing, both the police, and the media begin to accuse Nick. What follows is a series of plot twists and revelations, many of them extremely shocking. The movie runs at just over two hours, but I never found myself bored. The pacing of the film is on point thanks to director David Fincher (Fight Club, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo) who specializes in telling creating thrillers that never let up.

The film is enthralling from the opening shot to the closing. This is due to not only great directing, but also great acting and a phenomenal score. The storyline tells a perfect story, slowly giving away details until the big reveal. But the film doesn’t stop there, where other films might rush to the conclusion, Gone Girl takes its time to really show the impact of the events that have taken place. The media circus that surrounds Nick after his wife’s disappearance gives an insightful look at how events are portrayed in today’s media, delivering a powerful message on top of the exciting story. The acting is also superb, with each character, from the main couple to the supporting cast, giving captivating performances. Tyler Perry plays Nicks defense lawyer and, despite his reputation as the goofy grandma in the Madea series, delivers a solid performance. Neil Patrick Harris also gives a strong showing as Amy’s ex-lover. Both characters help provide some comedic relief, albeit dark comedic relief, to the story. But it is Rosamund Pike that steals the show. Without giving too much away, I would be extremely surprised if she did not receive an Oscar nomination for her performance. Speaking of Oscars, the music that helps create the tension in Gone Girl is also worthy. Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails fame once again teams up with Atticus Ross to score the movie. It is difficult to describe the impact that the music has without seeing it for yourself, but it is spot on, invoking the perfect feelings for every scene.

Gone Girl does not break any new ground in film, but it does perform perfectly in nearly every manner. It is an entertaining ride from start to finish and a film that is certain to create buzz around Oscar time. I can whole-heartedly recommend this movie, and urge anyone considering seeing the film to do so before hearing any spoilers.

___________________________________________________________________

Guardians of the Galaxy

By Neil Hazel | 

9.6.14

GuardiansOfTheGalaxy

Guardians of the Galaxy is a movie that may seem strange for a Marvel movie at first thought. Marvel has been slowly building a cinematic universe with big name heroes like Captain America, Iron Man, and Thor. Guardians of the Galaxy flips that idea on its head, starring a band of misfit anti-heroes that are just as likely to crack a joke and fight with each other as they are to save the day. None of the 5 primary members of the Guardians have ever been in the spotlight, but after their amazing run in this film that is certain to change.

 

Guardians of the Galaxy tells the story of Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) also known as Star-Lord, who after being abducted by aliens as a child, becomes a treasure hunting, Indiana Jones type character in space. Just like Marvels first big team up movie, The Avengers, Guardians features a team of heroes, but because each member didn’t have its own film to establish the character, it is great to see how naturally they are introduced. That is no small task considering the range of characters that make up the Guardians. Other than Star-Lord there is a wise-cracking, heavy weapons loving raccoon named Rocket (Bradley Cooper), a 7 foot tall sentient tree, Groot (Vin Diesel), a ruthless fighter, Drax (Dave Bautista), and a tough as nails alien out for revenge, Gamora (Zoe Saldana). These characters all interact in unique ways, both in conversations and in the fight scenes. Each character is given several individual moments to shine. There were several laugh out loud moments, and several one liners that I found kept coming back to me and making me laugh days later.

 

Director James Gunn has made not only one of the best, but also one of the most fun movies of the year. Guardians of the Galaxy is a refreshing take on the summer blockbuster. One of the biggest standouts of the film is the color palette. Almost every scene is gorgeous to look at, especially in 3D. Bright blue, yellow, purple, neon green, and crimson red are just a few of the colors that are used vibrantly throughout the film. While it may have been easy to force in a romantic subplot like so many other films have recently done, it is nice to see that it was skipped over in favor of more action set pieces which are great. There are aerial ship battles, up close and personal fistfights (or branch fights in Groot’s case), and dramatic standoffs, all dripping in the personality and character that only the Guardians can bring. The only real downsides that I can think of are the villain and the ending. There’s nothing wrong with Ronan (Lee Pace) as the villain, it just seems like the character is a little less entertaining than what Marvel has supplied in the past with the likes of Loki and The Winter Soldier. As for the ending, it may seem cheesy to some, but the more I thought about it the more I realized that it was a great way for the film to end, given the events that led up to the finale.

 

It is hard to talk about Guardians of the Galaxy without mentioning the soundtrack. The tracks are comprised of songs from the 1970’s that Star-Lord listens to on a mixtape from his childhood, featuring hits such as The Jackson 5’s “I Want You Back”, Marvin Gaye’s “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” and Norman Greenbaum’s “Spirt In The Sky”.

 

Guardians of the Galaxy is not only a great film, but a refreshing one. It is easily one of Marvel’s best films, as well as being one of the best films of the summer. If you are a fan of Marvel movies, superhero movies, sci-fi movies, funny movies, action movies, or adventure movies, you have no excuse to not see this film. Guardians exhibits some of the funniest dialogue, interesting characters and exciting action pieces of any movie this year. It is one of most entertaining movies I’ve ever seen, and with a sequel already confirmed it is exciting to see what Gunn and the rest of the crew will come up with next.

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Boyhood

By Neil Hazel | 

8.20.14

Boyhood_film

Boyhood is one of the more ambitious films released in recent memory, showcasing the journey of a young child into early adulthood. What makes Boyhood so special is that it was filmed over 12 years with the same cast and crew. The film starts in the early 2000’s with the boy, (Ellar Coltrane), as a young, carefree child and follows him all the way through his high school graduation and into college. Boyhood serves as a compelling look back through the past decade in terms of pop culture, showcasing how music, videogames, fashion and technology can all change drastically in a relatively short amount of time. In the beginning of the film, the boys mother, (Patricia Arquette), ensures the boy that he will be able to keep in touch with family and friends after moving by writing letters or e-mailing them. Fast forward ten years, and we see the boy using facetime to instantly connect with his father, (Ethan Hawke). It is also amazing to see the foresight that the film displays, when the addressing topics that seem both nostalgic and relevant. Harry Potter, Twilight, and Halo are all put on display. At one point, in the boys pre-teen years, he discusses with his father how it could be possible to make a sequels to Star Wars.

 

Throughout Boyhoods 160 minute runtime we see the boy and his family slowly age and develop, not only in appearance, but also in their relationships with each other, and in their own personal character. There is never a big emphasis placed on showing a time jump for him and his family, making the film flow naturally from one event into the next. One of the most pleasant aspects of Boyhood is how it succeeds in making the mundane exciting and emotional. While watching Boyhood I kept expecting for something overly dramatic and tragic to happen to him or his family, but it never does. That’s not to say that the boy and his family have an easy walk through life, there are bad things that happen, but nothing that doesn’t seem like it couldn’t have happened to any family. Boyhood is almost self-aware of the fact that the audience wants to see something tragic happen, foreshadowing it in several scenes, including one that had the entire audience holding their breath in anticipation. They are several moments in the film that will leave you feeling downtrodden, as the family struggles through their hardships, but there are also moments of joy as the family pulls together through all of the tragedy. Simple occurrences, such as long car rides, doing homework, or laundry, become laugh out loud moments.

 

After watching Boyhood it was hard not to reflect back on my own life. It is a trek through the highs and lows of life, showing that what may seem like the smallest moments of life can have importance. Boyhood is not a film to be missed. Not only because it is an achievement in filmmaking, but also because it is simply an entertaining movie.

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Transformers: Age of Extinction

By Johnny “Yondie” Kassab | 

7.2.14

Transformers_Age_of_Extinction_42240

*SLIGHT SPOILERS*

I was going to post this review as soon as it came to theaters, but I wanted to wait until I saw it for a second time. I did this because I saw a handful of negative reviews for the Michael Bay film, despite how passionate I was when I saw it for the first time. The complaints in these reviews were along the lines of “the characters were unecessary” and “the plot was boring”, but I think that people aren’t looking at the big picture. Transformers knows that it isn’t the best movie out there, it isn’t aiming to claim your heart and get you emotionally attached. Transformers: Age of Extinction is a piece of cinema that involves Marky Mark, TJ Miller, Kelsey Grammer, and a whole lot of robots. If you want to see robots destroy other robots while hearing Marky Mark talk his way out of most stuff, this is the movie for you. Another complaint seemed to be the length, which I personally don’t understand. The plot in Transformers added a large chunk of depth to the story of The Transformers, which I couldn’t get enough of. If I’m paying for a $10 movie, I want as much robot action as I can get.

 

Well, that’s about all I can say about Transformers: Age of Extinction without ruining too much, but if you’re one that enjoys large robots fighting while Marky Mark makes tough decisions, this is a movie you don’t want to miss. I mean, just look at the picture above, why wouldn’t you want to see that?

                                                                                                                                                                   

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 Trailer

By Johnny “Yondie” Kassab | 

6.25.14

 

If you’re looking for a great movie to see this fall, get ready (but not too ready) for the 3rd installment in the Hunger Games movie series. This movie will pick up where the critically acclaimed Hunger Games: Catching Fire left off. Hopefully this movie won’t leave us with a cliffhanger like its predecessor did. Above is the trailer for the new movie, which can send chills down your body.

tumblr_myu5xeZCeF1rape7eo1_500

Can’t wait!

Contact Us